1. Home
  2. /
  3. CBSE
  4. /
  5. Class 10
  6. /
  7. Grading System in CBSE...

Grading System in CBSE class-10 CCE Pattern

myCBSEguide App

myCBSEguide App

Download the app to get CBSE Sample Papers 2023-24, NCERT Solutions (Revised), Most Important Questions, Previous Year Question Bank, Mock Tests, and Detailed Notes.

Install Now

As per the new CCE Pattern of evaluation in CBSE class 10, only grades will be displayed in the progress card of the student. However, marks will be given while evaluating the answer sheets and these marks will be converted into grade in later stage. In case of co-scholastic areas/subjects other than main subjects will be evaluated through grades only. For more information about CCE Pattern follow the links of Continuous and Comprehensive evaluation and CGPA 

As discussed earlier this scheme of Grading system is introduced to reduce the unnecessary pressure from students by means of continuous evaluation by taking number of small tests throughout the year instead of single test at the end of the academic session. This will surely improve the student’s performance by identifying his/her learning difficulties at regular intervals. Let’s welcome this move by CBSE and get prepare for the upcoming exam format and inclusion of CCE Pattern

CCE Pattern


Some facts and analysis by myCBSEguide.com

Let’s discuss the pattern of the exam. There are two types of test ie Formative and Summative assessment.

Formative Assessment: 

  • help students identify their strengths and weaknesses and target areas that need work
  • help faculty recognize where students are struggling and address problems immediately
  • Conducted 4 times a year, they carry 40% weightage

Summative Assessment: 

  • summative assessment is provided to evaluate students learning skill at the end of an instructional unit by comparing it against some standard or benchmark
  • It is a 3 hour test, conducted twice a year.
  • Each summative is conducted after 2 formatives and each carry a weightage of 30%.

We should be thankful to the recommendations of the Kothari Commission, National Policy on Education and National Curriculum Frame Work which make it flexible for students and generate the interest in learning. The stress factor, Personality development and encouraging specific abilities of students, who do not excel in academics but perform well in other co-curricular areas are the core points in this scheme.

MarksGradesGrade Points
20 and belowE20

Cumulative Grade Point Average(CGPA) would also be reflected in the Statement of Subject wise Performance /Certificate of Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation.

Technical terms and points to remember in CCE Pattern:

Grades will be provided as A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2, D, E1 and E2

The minimum qualifying grade for passing the exam is grade D. Students getting E1 or E2 grades, will have to sit in re-examination within a month.

The students will be assessed in subjects under Scholastic Area A using the conventional numerical marking and later converted into the grades and the same shall be awarded as under:

myCBSEguide App

Test Generator

Create question paper PDF and online tests with your own name & logo in minutes.

Create Now
myCBSEguide App


Question Bank, Mock Tests, Exam Papers, NCERT Solutions, Sample Papers, Notes

Install Now

Leave a Comment